Rework or Rebuild?

MadKeyboarding

As you may have noticed, I took down Mind the Shadows.  I felt compelled to pull it and… well… decide, I guess, what to do with it.

The truth is that I think it kind of got away from me.  I was more concerned about cranking out words and “action” than with understanding what I wanted for my characters – not to mention, among other things, what my characters wanted for themselves.

It started feeling like doing a job versus just being a story I wanted to tell and being something fun to do.  So, as you ALSO may have noticed, I got sloppy when I did produce words, AND I started producing less often.

I’m at a crossroads for either reworking (my term for doing some editing) the existing story or rebuilding it.  I’ll likely keep the general story line that I started, but I’m not sure if I’ll pare it down to being part of Marek’s background, or if I’ll rework and streamline it, then continue on from there.

I would like to get a bit more “future history” in there for a better description of the setting.  I felt like that was lacking.

I’m still learning how to do all this, so I don’t know what you should expect.

I wouldn’t mind some advice.

I did get one great piece of advice. It was part of what prompted me to start down this path for Mind the Shadows.  Dirty SciFi Buddha posted one of his musings that really got my attention.  Here is the link to the post.  He’s right, too.  I was cranking out “stuff”, but I wasn’t paying attention to my characters.  I wasn’t letting them become the living breathing people they need to be.

Anyway, let me know your thoughts about Mind the Shadows.  Let me know your thoughts about anything.  As always thanks for your comments and feedback.

Leave a Reply

