Thanks, Thanksgiving and Honey

Yeah, I am thankful for some stuff.  The trip Home to visit for Thanksgiving is one of those things.  I got to see my daughter for a bit.  The family gatherings were pleasant.  They came with minimal drama – something for which I am very thankful.  I got to hang out with my best friend.  That’s always something I appreciate.

Another thing that I am happy to mention is 20 years of marriage.  It’s not our anniversary just yet (couple of weeks), but it is something for which I am thankful for sure.  I look back over 20 years and can’t think of anything I would change.  I can’t come up with any time that I wasn’t “happily married”.  Don’t get me wrong… it has not all been peaches and cream (who says that anymore).  But it has been worth every moment of these 20 years.  My wife is my other best friend.  We get along well and usually have a pretty good time together.  Raising our daughter together has been a great experience.  Just living day to day  married to her has been pretty damn good.  Sometimes it’s been an “adventure”.  It would be boring, though, if there weren’t some bumps and curves in the road.

I don’t feel like I have achieved any kind of milestone with a 20th anniversary.  I guess I don’t see it that way.  I was not setting a goal back then.  I wasn’t trying for some grand achievement.  I just decided that I wanted to spend my life with her.  I fell in love.  It’s that simple.  I guess if I didn’t feel a little proud, I wouldn’t be posting it here, but I haven’t chosen my life with her based on a challenge or desire to “win” something.    The bottom line is that I am very thankful for making that decision so many years ago.  I will continue to be thankful for this life with her.  Thanks, honey, for making that decision back then, too.

 

2 thoughts on “Thanks, Thanksgiving and Honey

Leave a Reply

