New Groove Thing

Shit’s changing…

I start a new job tomorrow.

In 2 weeks I take my daughter to college.

Yep… shit’s changing ūüėČ

So, I guess I need to pull head from ass and get to work on a new groove thing.

For your listening pleasure.

I guess it’s going to be a new routine around here. ¬†I will have a longer trip to work; something I will definitely have to get used to after spending the last to years with a 4-mile commute. ¬†Tough, huh? ¬†I don’t think the getting up early part will be an issue, since I already do that. ¬†But the coming home later thing will definitely be different. ¬†I am a bit nervous about the unknown with a major change in scenery, but I’m looking forward to it, too. ¬†Every time I think about the choice I made to leave where I was at, I start drawing the same conclusion with the given information. ¬†It was time to go. ¬†Among other things, I should have been promoted to lab manager, but the boss didn’t see fit to make the position and ultimately create a better setup for hardware development. ¬†I don’t know that I was the ideal guy for such a job, but I was the one ready to take it on and make the lab a more productive place for the company. ¬†Oh well…

Then the other routine change… my daughter is going away to school. ¬†Yeah, I’ve mentioned this before, but bear with me. ¬†It’s a major change in my life. ¬†And since this is my blog… <evil grin> ¬†well… you get the point. ¬†But yeah, it’s a major change for my wife and me. ¬†I’m certain I’ll miss her some, but I’m also looking forward to being… I don’t know… without a kid again? ¬†Don’t get me wrong. I wouldn’t trade the life I’ve had with my family for anything. ¬†It was a good “decision” to have my kid. But… ¬†The wife and I had a lot of fun back then before raising a child. ¬†I don’t know if it will be too different from the current situation with a daughter that’s on the verge of being an adult, but I expect there will be some changes. ¬†We’ll see.

I’ve got a lot of adjustment coming I think. ¬†Wish me luck.

Before I go. ¬†One more from Satch… you’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

