Now THAT was a Race!!!

SRF Race 041516-2

Oh, hell yeah!!!  I haven’t raced more than twice in the past month.  I’ve been burnt out.  I was getting tired of some of the same old shit.  I’ll leave it at that.  I needed a break from that, so I have not been racing.  Tonight, though, I felt like “getting back to basics”.  So, I jumped into a Spec Racer Ford to see how it would go.  It was an awesome reminder of why I love racing – virtual or otherwise.

See up there?  Yeah.  That’s me in the #10 Logitech/Texas Club Spec Racer Ford.  THAT is what it looked like for 7 laps of the 12 lap race at Silverstone.  That #6 guy and I were almost perfectly matched in speed and skill.  Now, I didn’t win.  We were racing for 5th place.  But, oh, did we race!  He was a little quicker in spots, and I was a little quicker in other spots of the track.  The icing on the cake?  He wasn’t an asshole.  He raced me clean.  I raced him clean.  THAT’S racing!  No bullshit.  No asshole trying to bump you.  Just two drivers pushing as hard as they can to be in front of the other guy.

The even better part… I beat him.  I got 5th with him a couple seconds behind by the end.  I think the guy gave up, or I wore him out.  He made one little mistake on lap 8, and I cashed in on it.  After that, he couldn’t seem to keep up, or he just didn’t want to run that hard any more.  So much fun.  That was a great reminder of why I love to race.  I needed that.  My thanks to the SRF community on iRacing.  Some of you guys (like that guy in #6) are really cool, racing hard but clean.

Leave a Reply

