Not Quite What I Had In Mind

That didn’t quite work out as hoped…

My Daytona 500 ended a little early when I got caught up in, technically, the last “big one”.  I really didn’t have a way to avoid it, either.  I watched the replay and saw one possible out, but I think it would have resulted in car damage anyway as I slapped the outside wall.  So, by not taking that route, my night ended with less than 50 laps to go when I T-boned a guy that spun in front of me and didn’t slide down to the infield.

With that said, though, I had a lot of fun.  I worked at staying with my Texas club mates and my race team throughout the race.  I helped keep our strategy in play.  And when it was time to start working towards the front of the pack to put as many Texas guys in the front as possible, it was starting to happen as planned.  We had the cars set up to do what we were planning, and it was working.  That’s a good feeling.

We were riding around in the back for about 2/3 of the race.  I could tell that we had good cars because we weren’t working too awful hard to stay together and work around others that we didn’t want to be near.  It was just about running a heads-up race and avoiding the wrecks – something, I’m sorry to say, didn’t happen at the end.  Nonetheless, up to the crash, things looked and felt pretty good.  That’s what made it fun.

By the way, it didn’t end at the last crash.  One of our own ended up winning, and we had 3 Texans in the top 5.  The guy that one was part of my race team.  Can’t complain about that… on to the next one 😉

Leave a Reply

