Getting Ready for (my) Daytona

 

Yes, I like NASCAR.  I’m not a huge fan/follower, but I do like it some.  And it’s time to get ready for Daytona.  I don’t mean the race on Sunday afternoon, either (though, I will likely watch some of that).  I mean the Pacific Majors Daytona 500.  It’s the one I’m racing in.  200 laps of nose-to-tail, door-to-door chess.  I have to qualify this week.  I hope to get into the “pro” split, but I’ll be happy to be in either split.  I ran this race last year, too.  Afterward, I had a different sort of respect for oval race car drivers.  The amount of concentration and awareness that is required is amazing.  I also understand why these guys are athletes.  I sit in front of my computer desk with a fake racing wheel and pedals strapped to it.  I can control the room temperature.  I don’t have to experience up to three Gs in the turns.  Yet, by the end of those 200 laps, I feel like I’ve been taken out back and had my ass whipped.

Yeah, I’m looking forward to it.  I race Sunday night (Feb. 21) at about 7pm.  It will be streamed live on YouTube.  I’ll try and post the appropriate links once I know which split I’m in.

Oh, by the way, the pics up top are screen shots for the team logo that I’m riding with and two of the cars (#90 is mine) on the team.  We’re running the Ford Fusion.  We’ve already proven we can take down Chevys and Toyotas in practice 😛  Okay, okay.  The cars in the sim are nearly identical.  It’s how we set up the suspensions, etc. underneath that make a difference, and I’d say Ridin’ Shotgun has some pretty good setups coming along.  We’ll see.

Hope to hear you saw the race.

Leave a Reply

