Race Week (Virtually)

Yep, it’s that time of year again.  This week iRacing is hosting its version of the 24 Hours At Daytona.  Practicing and qualifying happen through Friday, and the race starts at 7am Saturday morning.  As a major geek and a fan of both real and simulated auto racing, I will likely be at or very near my computer for 24+ hours this coming weekend.

Race team logo and preliminary custom paint scheme for the car

I got a team that will be racing the McLaren MP4-12c… for 24 hours.  Real or not, it’s one hell of an experience to race a car for that long.  It’s no longer just about speed.  It becomes about keeping the car intact and driver & pit strategies.  Last year, I was up for 27 hours straight.  For those that don’t know about this kind of thing, no, I won’t be driving on my own for 24 hours.  It’s a team effort where we will switch drivers (I think 5 of us this year) during pit stops (yes, the iRacing sim/game can do that) throughout the 24-hr race.  While not driving, the other team members act as spotters, crew chief and general support for the guy “in the car” through voice chat and manipulating pit stop options (tires, tire pressure, amount of fuel, etc).  My team last year brought the car home 2nd in class.  Here’s to hoping for a good finish again this year.

By the way, the real 24 hour event is next weekend; the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

So, you may not hear from me until after this coming weekend, but rest assured, i have not lost interest and I am still working on Mind the Shadows, among other things.  I just gotta do this racing thing 😉

Leave a Reply

