‘I Find Your Lack of’ Respect ‘Disturbing’

It was a nice Christmas.

I received gifts that I will certainly enjoy.  I gave gifts that I hope are enjoyed.  As usual, my wife out did herself with the baking and preparation of a great Christmas dinner.  I enjoyed visiting with my mom and sister.  I hadn’t seen them since July.  It was a pleasant holiday.

[rant]

One Christmas Day hitch…

A preface… I am not a person who is devout to any organized religion.  I don’t go to church.  BUT… I do respect those that have chosen to be religious and devoted to their faith – Christian, Jewish, Muslim, Wiccan, whatever.  I get it.  I see no problem with a need to follow customs and rituals that help with a person’s spirituality.  I don’t even see a problem with folks of faith wanting to talk about their beliefs and try to find others of like mind.

With that said, though, on Christmas morning my respect for a particular religion/faith tanked pretty hard.

There was a knock at the door on Christmas morning.  I opened the door to find two well-dressed young men standing there holding pamphlets and a book that I immediately figured was a bible (couldn’t see the cover).  As a person who tries to be respectful of those that feel compelled to spread their “Word”, I let them give me a speech about keeping families together and healing rifts between family members.  They even quoted me some scripture.  I had no problem with that, though, I was a bit irritated at being disturbed on Christmas morning while with my family.

Now let me make sure to point out that I was not paying real close attention to which version of Christianity these people represented.  Yeah, I’m sometimes kinda slow that way.  I did, however, think it was odd that they did not mention Christmas at all during this encounter. But the possible reason for that didn’t sink in.  So, I took the proffered pamphlet at the end of their spiel and nodded to them as they departed and went back inside.

Upon explaining what had transpired at the door to the rest of my family, it was quickly pointed out to me that they were Jehovah’s witnesses.  Yes, I then had that “duh” moment as the lack of mention of Christmas was caught by my rusty steel trap mind and suddenly made sense.  So, on Christmas day, these folks were out spreading their “Word” to those of us who might actually be celebrating Christmas.  Remember, among other special occasions, Jehovah’s witnesses don’t celebrate Christmas.

Within seconds of getting through that moment of realization, a small burning irritation for being disturbed developed into a searing flame.  I suddenly felt very disrespected by these two pricks and their religion.  Like I said, I’m not a religious man, but I was raised in a Christian family that are NOT Jehovah’s Witnesses and DO celebrate Christmas as other Christian faiths do.  So, I celebrate Christmas with my family.  I’ve got zero problem if you and yours don’t.

But these two had the gall to disturb people that celebrate Christmas on Christmas day in an effort to spread their beliefs.  To me, that is just a complete lack of respect to those that live and believe differently than they do.  I mean I have Christmas lights up. So, as they approached, I have no how they could have thought that there was no chance that the people in my house celebrated Christmas.  If I were them, I would have been respectful enough to not approach that house on the off chance that I might be disturbing the occupants’ holiday.  I would not knowingly wish a Jehovah’s witness a Merry Christmas or Happy Birthday out of respect for his/her beliefs.  So, why did they not respect others’ beliefs/customs enough to not disturb them on their holiday?  Their little mission could have waited a day.

I know this rant might be a bit much over something kind of trivial, but dammit what the fuck happened to respect for others in this world?  I have no recollection of any other Christian faith – or any religion for that matter – ever knocking on my or any of my family’s doors on Christmas morning to spread their “Word”.  My guess is that’s because the other Christians were at home or at church celebrating Christmas, or if not Christian, they were off doing their own thing and leaving those that celebrate Christmas alone on their holiday.  The bottom line is that my respect for Jehovah’s witnesses – at least the two disrespectful turds that knocked on my door on Christmas morning – dropped quite a bit.

[/rant]

Leave a Reply

