The Force Has, Indeed, Awakened… Again

So the family and I went to see Star Wars, Episode 7 this morning.  It was good.  It was very good, in my opinion.  J.J. Abrams did a great job bringing Star Wars back to what it was originally meant to be.  I will have to watch again… multiple times 😉

Don’t get me wrong.  I liked the prequels… well, as much as any true SW fan can like them, I guess.  But as I see it, Lucas went off the rails with 1, 2 & 3.  He sold out?  His life views changed?  All I know is that the prequels did not do justice to the original three, and from where I stand, did not do justice to the spectacle that Lucas, himself, had created Star Wars to be with those original three movies.

But J.J. did a smart thing (probably among many) to get episode 7 back where SW belonged.  He brought Lawrence Kasdan back into the mix to write the screenplay.  That was one of the big parts of what made the original 3 such great movies.  Lucas had the help of Kasdan with episodes 5 and 6, and I think that is what helped keep the SW saga great.  So, with Kasdan back in the writer’s chair for 7, it already had a lot going for it.  It brought back the “feel” of the original three.

I’ll leave it at that.  It sure wasn’t 1977 again, but it was close.  If you like Star Wars at all, go see it.  My dad would have loved it 🙂

Leave a Reply

