Shadows and Christmas

Christmas is coming.  That’s not a bad thing.  Honestly, I could do without some of the stress and emotions that seem to be associated with this time of year.  But it’s still not a bad time of year.  Visiting family is always good.  Exchanging gifts can be fun.  There’s always good food.  I LOVE cookies.  I don’t mind winter, either.

With that in mind, I am wishing those that read this a Merry Christmas, and please, take that as what you like it to mean: Happy Holidays, Happy Hanukkah, etc.  I say Merry Christmas because I was raised saying that.  I am not about to justify it more or less than that.  I am simply wishing for you to enjoy whatever holiday you celebrate this time of year.  I celebrate Christmas.

I’ve been working on Mind the Shadows, but it’s going slow.  I have been distracted by other stuff, for one thing.  I’ve recently upgraded my PC for a better iRacing experience.  I have been busy getting ready for Christmas here at the house.  My garage project, while now on hold until after the first of the year, just recently went on hold.

I have also been trying to figure out where to take this next.  It’s not as easy a task as I thought it might be when I started putting “pen to paper”.  Obviously, Marek has quite a bit of stuff going on with losing his Grandpa – his only family.  Oh, yeah, that pesky manifestation of magick might be playing a little on his mind, too 😉

I assure you that I’m ramping up to more action and interesting things.  After all, this wouldn’t be much of a story if it ended with Marek being sad and scared over the loss of his grandfather.

I feel bad for him in this situation.  Marek had to start telling his story from somewhere, and this is truly where it all started for him.  Plus, all this was the major motivation for Marek to take some risks and jump start his life.  I feel like Marek was kind of a middle-of-the-road young guy that was almost too content.  Grandpa dying and him becoming Awakened in a very short amount of time are serious catalysts to get Marek off his butt and find out what is needed of him and what he needs to do.

I hope I showed that a little.

Beside that,  we know Jammer is going to have questions about Grandpa’s letter, right?  Of course, he is.  That’s part of what makes Jammer, well, Jammer.  He’s curious about stuff.  He likes to understand things, especially technical stuff.  He also cares about his best friend, and is certainly concerned about all this working out for Marek.  So, the mysterious letter and Marek’s well-being is definitely piquing Jammer’s curiosity.

Anyway, that’s where my head is at the moment.  And I’m ending on a “good note” with this piece of music in my ears.

Good night…

Leave a Reply

