Thanksgiving Thanks

I enjoyed Thanksgiving this year.  I don’t mean more than any other year, I suppose, but it was a little different and nice for that difference.  We didn’t travel this year.  Black Friday was kind of a pleasant surprise.  Thanksgiving dinner was still traditional and delicious (good job, honey), but only with the immediate family – plus one.  We were busy, but it was not to a point of being miserable.  It was simple, and I enjoyed it all.

Black Friday was surprisingly not as chaotic as I thought it would be.  I suppose there were a couple of factors that helped with that.  One was the fact that stores were doing stuff like door busters on Thanksgiving evening.  That is not something I would participate in, so I thankfully missed that.  The other factor was that the weather in DFW was horrendous; 8 inches of rain fell over the course of 3-4 days.  It was raining cats and dogs and very cool all day Friday.  I think those two reasons allowed for Friday to be far less crowded and thus, less chaotic.

Christmas came early for me this year.  I got to upgrade my PC.  It was time for a new processor, and that led to upgrading other parts.  I kinda ended up with all new guts :-).  I will definitely have a much better iRacing experience for my money and effort.  Thanks for that, honey.

We did a lot of running around on Friday and over the weekend taking advantage of sales and getting things we needed in preparation for the next holiday.  We also got the inside Christmas decorations up.  Next weekend is outside decorations, so long as the swamp dries up.

I really did enjoy the Thanksgiving holiday and all it entailed (or didn’t entail in this case).  Got some family coming down for Christmas instead of us traveling.  I’m thinking that’s not a bad thing, either.  It’s a little busy around the house, but I don’t have to try and prep for a long trip.  I won’t get to hang out with my best friend this year, and I will definitely miss that.  But we’re best friends, and I can say that distance and time has not hurt our friendship.  I won’t get to see all of my family for the holiday, either.  That’s not ideal, but I’ll catch up with them next time I journey Home.  There are definitely trade offs for either path, but I can’t say I have a problem with the way the holidays are working out this year.

So, thanks for a good Thanksgiving.  Here’s to hoping for a nice Christmas.

Leave a Reply

